INFLUENCES: Resources

Influences-3

Resources

The Situationist City is one of the first books I’ve “attempted” to read on an architectural movement. I say “attempted” because three years ago, I hadn’t made the connections I’m beginning to make now. The Situationists began an artistic and political movement against the Western world. But hadn’t the Construction artists done the same thing: designing in what seemed an  unexpected manner because of a rejection of the social and political role? These examples of art and writing are evident of a a] Dystopia. I feel the topic of a dystopian world is very relevant to architecture, comparative of hell. Architecture is a description of how we want to live and inhabit the world. If the world is in a manner in which we disagree with it, I would say that architecture is a key player in that. It is reminiscent of Orwell’s 1984, a fictional novel but a representation of a dystopian way of life. Even today’s suburbs frighten me with the idea that people are only living in a way that seems normal; everyone walled up in their homes with picture windows secretly hating the neighbors, and not content.

If this sounds like a story, it should: there’s a b] narrative to the way we inhabit architecture. Like a novel has characters, it also has setting, architecture included. Narrative is one form of representing a project, and like Hadid’s work, c] representation should be unique. The Draftery is a source I visit often online to inspire methods of representing my projects. If the end result is a pin up, I believe in pinning up creative drawings. The Function of Ornament is a book I bought early on which represents even the d] tectonics of precedents in well drawn section perspectives and diagrams.

I always refer back to Building Construction Illustrated as well, of course, because though creative, my drawings are still comprehensive.

Leave a Reply

